Standard Brick Dimensions Based on Different Codes

Standard Brick Dimensions Based on Different Codes

When it comes to construction, the dimensions of bricks play a crucial role in ensuring a seamless fit within the design layout. The selection of bricks is determined by the specific application they will be used for, and various countries have established their own standards for brick sizes.

In this article, we will explore the standard dimensions of bricks based on different codes, including ASTM, CSA, IS, British Standard, and Australian Standard.

Standard Brick Dimensions Based on Different Codes


1. ASTM International:

The American Standard for Testing Materials (ASTM) provides specifications for different types of bricks used in the United States. While good quality bricks should have a uniform size, the most commonly used brick is the modular brick, with dimensions of 194 × 92 × 57 mm (length x depth x height). However, the size of bricks specified by ASTM International standards, such as ASTM C62, ASTM C216, ASTM C652, and ASTM C1088, may vary depending on the purchaser’s requirements.

Tolerances for standard conventional brick sizes permitted by ASTM International are as follows:

  1. Length: ±3.0 mm
  2. Breadth: ±1.5 mm
  3. Depth: ±1.5 mm

    2.Canadian Standards Association (CSA):

Similar to ASTM International, the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) does not specify exact brick sizes. Variations in brick dimensions can occur due to factors such as the manufacturing process, shrinkage of clay during drying and firing, mold or extrusion die wear, or stress on the units during handling. Permitted size variations are based on brick classification and the relative dimensional range measured. These variations can be plus or minus from the specified dimensions.

3. Indian Standard (IS 1077):

The Indian Standard (IS 1077) provides specifications for common burnt clay building bricks. The standard modular size for common building bricks is 190 x 90 x 90 mm or 190 x 90 x 40 mm (length x depth x height). Non-modular brick sizes are 230 x 110 x 70 mm or 230 x 110 x 30 mm (length x depth x height). For proper bond arrangement and modular dimensions in brickwork using non-modular sizes, brick dimensions of 70 x 110 x 70 mm (length x depth x height) may be used.

4.British Standard:

In the British Standard, the standard dimension for a modern brick is 215 × 102.5 × 65 mm (length x depth x height). These dimensions are commonly used in construction projects in the United Kingdom.

5. Australian Standard:

Based on the Australian Standard AS 4455, the standard brick size is 230 x 110 x 76 mm (length x width x height). However, there are variations in brick sizes, such as 290 x 90 x 90 mm and 290 x 90 x 50 mm, which are used in specific cases.

Standard brick dimensions vary across different countries and codes. It is essential to consider these variations during the selection of bricks to ensure they align with the design requirements and construction standards.

Whether you are in the United States, Canada, India, the United Kingdom, or Australia, understanding the standard brick dimensions based on the relevant code will help you make informed decisions and achieve optimal results in your construction projects.

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post